Iyshon

Dear Friends,

I have two new items that you will find on my web sites soon and some upcoming conferences this spring. First, let me introduce you to our all natural, essential oil perfume. I’ll be posting our Reflection Jewelry line on our blog and web site in the spring when The Healing Rose; The Rest of The Story of Esther’s Purification is available.

 אישׁון    Iyshon  

Keep me as the apple of the eye,  hide me under the shadow of thy wings. 

   Psalms 17:8   KJV

Hear Our Voices Book Cover Eliahu Schwarz

Keep me as the apple of the eye – Preserve me; guard me; defend me, as one defends that which is to him most precious and valuable. In the original there is a remarkable strength of expression, and at the same time a remarkable confusion of gender in the language. The literal translation would be, “Keep me as the little man – the daughter of the eye.” The word “apple” applied to the eye means the pupil, the little aperture in the middle of the eye, through which the rays of light pass to form an image on the retina (“Johnson, Webster”); though “why” it is called the “apple” of the eye the lexicographers fail to tell us. The Hebrew word אישׁון  ‘ı^ysho^n. – means properly, “a little man,” and is given to the apple or pupil of the eye, “in which, as in a mirror, a person sees his own image reflected in miniature.”  Albert Barnes Commentary

Apothecary Cynthia Hillson’s Iyshon is an all-natural perfume blended with essential oils and grape alcohol. It’s a bit spicy and a little sweet.
In the fragrance of Iyshon you will find gentle nuances of botanicals that include herbs, flowers, leaves, fruits, spices and roots blended with grape alcohol. The preciousness of an all natural perfume is that it is absorbed into your skin and not lay on your skin such as chemical perfumes do.  Wear as a perfume, body spray or add a few drops to a bath.

Apothecary Cynthia has hand-crafted Iyshon blending a fragrance that she hopes will take you to days when you didn’t have a care in the world; like walking in the sand at the beach, listening to the waves. Imagine sitting on a bench in a botanical garden taking in the beauty of the colors and fragrances of the flowers, trees and herbs. Reflect the quiet moments that you mediate on God’s Word pondering His promises for you. For Cynthia, carefree days include walking in the Jewish Quarter of the Old City of Jerusalem and why she has included a portrait of herself for Iyshon.

Iyshon Portrait 9 Feb 2014

Cynthia’s portrait was created for her by Artist Eliahu Schwarz in October 2006. His studio is in the Old City of Jerusalem and can be found near the Western Wall. Eliahu is a gifted artist whose use of media is pen, pencil and watercolors. He’s produced two books, “To Jerusalem, With Love” and his second “Hear Our Voices; Women at Prayer”. Eliahu’s women at prayer book includes 53 drawings; each one with an excerpt of the Psalms. In the intro of his book Eliahu writes:

With this collection of drawings of women at prayer at the “Western Wall” (hakotel hamaaravi a/k/a the Wailing Wall) I have attempted to lend form to the spiritual, basically an impossible undertaking. An undertaking that has captured my imagination for close to 10 years ~ praying, observing, searching, and trying to make the invisible visible.

 

The unending endeavor of human beings in search of communication with the Almighty, I wanted to make perceivable with the aid of my pencil, a labor that gave me much gratification.

 

I was deeply touched and inspired by the prevailing atmosphere and the women’s way of prayer demonstrated by their bearing, their gestures, their ardent fervor, their faith and diversity of approach to their Maker, the most High.

 

In the stillness of my studio (near the Western Wall), I toiled in order to perfect and complete these drawings and make them accessible to the public.

 

May they create an impression of surpassing human frailties, and lead to a deeper understanding of human beings amongst ourselves. It was, and is, for me, an ongoing dialogue with the essence of human nature in general, women in particular, and the search for closeness to the Almighty.

Eliahu Schwarz

 Eliahu inscribed my book and he didn’t even know my Hebrew name is Ora (light).

My book Inscription

Cynthia’s heart’s desire for the wearer of Iyshon is to find time to reflect on the goodness of the Lord and his fragrant creation found in plants. She also reminds you of these verses found in Psalm 141.

LORD, I cry unto thee: make haste unto me; give ear unto my voice, when I cry unto thee. Let my prayer be set forth before thee as incense; and the lifting up of my hands as the evening sacrifice. Set a watch, O LORD, before my mouth; keep the door of my lips. But mine eyes are unto thee, O GOD the Lord: in thee is my trust; leave not my soul destitute. Keep me from the snares which they have laid for me, and the gins of the workers of iniquity. Let the wicked fall into their own nets, while I will escape.  

Psalms 141:1-3 & 8-10 KJV

Pray for the peace of Jerusalem.

Apothecary Cynthia Hillson

www.TheFragrantBride.com

PreciousOils@aol.com

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Eileen Conner
    Feb 10, 2014 @ 01:01:37

    Pick me. I’m leaving for Florida on Friday and wonder if I could get it before I leave. If indeed you decided to pick me. Either way be blessed and covered with His love.
    Eileen

    Reply

Leave a Reply

